This site uses cookies. By continuing, your consent is assumed. Learn more

99.4fm shares

5 love languages communication


But, in a relationship where one partner is living with a chronic illness like rheumatoid arthritiscommunication is likely even more important.

Communication allows my husband and I to face chronic illness as part of a team with a united front. It allows us to address conflicts, cooperate through difficult times, ask for help, and assure that our own needs are met. In short, good communication allows our relationship to weather the storm of chronic illness — and maybe even grow stronger in the process.

The 5 Love Languages

My husband and I are always looking for ways to improve our communication, because we know just how important it is to our relationship — and to our family as a whole. It honestly sounded pretty cheesy to me!

However, when both my doctor and my therapist recommended it, I decided to take a closer look. The 5 Love Languages is a book written by relationship counselor Gary Chapman in Chapman theorizes that people tend to naturally give love the 5 love languages communication they prefer to receive it — which means that if you and your partner express love in different ways you may, more or less, be trying to speak to each other in different languages.

I turned out to have two primary love languages — equally split between acts of service 9 and words of affirmation 9.

Those were closely followed by quality time 7. Less important to me was physical touch 4 and receiving gifts 1. To me, this score clearly demonstrates the impact of RA on my life: And it makes sense that physical touch is near the bottom for me, as RA can often make it painful to be touched or touch my partner.

His primary love languages were physical touch 10 and quality time Those were pretty closely followed by words of affirmation 7. At the "5 love languages communication" of his list he had receiving gifts 2 and acts 5 love languages communication service 1.

Although we turned out to have similar opinions on the importance of receiving gifts, we were both pretty shocked to discover that one of my top love languages — acts of service — was at the very bottom of his list. Likewise, one of his top love languages — physical touch — was near the bottom of mine.

The major difference between those...

And because people tend to express love in 5 love languages communication way they prefer to receive it…. For example, while my husband certainly appreciates a clean house and a hot dinner when he gets home from work, what matters more to him is being welcomed with a hug and a kiss. And, while I certainly appreciate a kiss or a shoulder rub, what really makes me feel loved is for him to unload the dishwasher or put the kids to bed, taking the pressure off me.

And, in a relationship facing a chronic illnesscommunication is definitely key.

Good news - you're already subscribed! Let us know at contact RheumatoidArthritis.

Try again or let us "5 love languages communication" at contact RheumatoidArthritis. This was the rating I received from taking the test. I have been divorced for 42 yrs and never remarried. The numbers and explanations of this quiz did coincide pretty closely with how I feel about a loving relationship.

I think my top 10 and my bottom 2would level out prior to aging with RA. My daughter-in-law used this book to find their love language with my son and we discussed it at that time — more than 9 yrs ago. It did show that their marriage of 15 years; 3 children was one of conflict within their love languages.

News feed